Political News

Political and Technical weblog

Wanna know more about Indian Polls? Ask your queries here

who is going to win?

who is going to win?

The initial phase ended peacefully despite attacks from Maoist rebels that took a toll of 20 people. Deputy Election Commissioner Balakrishnan said, “Considering the complexities and difficulties, the polling was by and large peaceful in the country and the average turnout has come around 58% to 62%”. Polling in states like Maharashtra, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Kerala and Nagaland went off peacefully with no untoward incident, he added.

The Republic of India with its parliamentary democracy, depends solely on the voting system. The apt phrase “Unity in Diversity” projects the India’s different castes, languages and customs and that is the reason why it was considered by our founding fathers to have a Universal suffrage.

People in India exercise their franchise in both state level elections and seats for Parliament that consists of 543 seats.  The Indian Parliament consists of Rajya Sabha (also called upper house) and Lok Sabha, (also called lower house) that houses the representatives of the people. Even though President is the constitutional head, Prime Minister is the prime decision maker in the country with the help of his council of ministers.

Will they again come to power?

Will they again come to power?

The Lok Sabha elections of 2004 witnessed the formation of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the centre. Led by Indian National Congress, this single largest alliance got the support of leftist parties and others who did not favour BJP.

In this election, around 714 million voters elect their leaders to Lok Sabha from 828,804 polling centers on 23rd and 30th April, and on 7th and 13th of  May apart from the just now ended initial phase.

The following is the Election Schedule for Lok Sabha (2009)

Election Dates No. of Seats List of States
Apr 16 124 AP, Arunachal, Assam. Bihar, J&K, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, UP, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman, Lakshadweep
Apr 23 141 AP, Assam, Bihar, Goa, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand
Apr 30 107 Bihar, Gujarat, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim, UP, West Bengal, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu
May 07 85 Bihar, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi
May 13 86 Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry

The counting of votes will begin on 16th May 09 and the next Lok Sabha has to convene before 2nd June 09. Courtesy: http://www.indian-elections.com

Let us all vote without fail.


April 18, 2009 Posted by | National Politics | , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Voters List (Electoral Roll) in Andhra Pradesh – Ask your questions here!


As a democratic country, India exercises universal adult franchise. By our right to vote in elections, we have the ultimate power to shape the destiny of the country.

Andhra Pradesh is going to polls in two phases on 16th and 23rd of April for both Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly and Parliament elections.  On April 16th, the following 22 constituencies go to polls. Adilabad, Peddapalle, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Zahirabad, Medak, Malkajgiri, Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Chevella, Mahbubnagar, Nagarkurnool, Nalgonda, Bhongir, Warangal, Mahabubabad, Khammam, Araku, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Anakapalle and Visakhapatnam. Like wise on April 23rd, Kakinada, Amalapuram, Rajahmundry, Narsapuram, Eluru, Machilipatnam, Vijayawada, Guntur, Narasaraopet, Bapatla, Ongole, Nandyal, Kurnool, Anantapur, Hindupur, Kadapa, Nellore, Tirupati, Rajampet and Chittoor.

Electoral roll (also called voter list) is the official document of all the citizens who are entitled to vote. The list is generally revised every year to add the names of those who have turned 18 or have moved to another constituency or to delete the names of those who have expired. The updating of the Voter’s list stops only when there is an election campaign or when the nominations for candidates have closed. When you receive the Voter’s Identity card for assembly elections, it is used for Parliamentary elections too.

Even if your name is not listed in the voter’s list, you can furnish documents like driving license, passport, Ration Card and State/Central Government ID card in the voting booth. To include your name in the voter list, fill the form 6 and for any correction of entries fill the form 8.

Election commission has taken great measures to enroll legitimate voters in the voter list.  The office of the Chief Electoral Officer, AP operates under the full control of the Election Commission of India and conducts General Elections and Bye- Elections to the state. Their work also includes preparation and updation of Electoral Rolls, issue of Photo Identity Cards to Electors and Re-organization of Polling Stations.

Please don’t ask questions on this Blog – No one checks this blog regularly, please use the links below for more information.

Check out the official Website www.ceoandhra.nic.in and voters can check their names at http://ceoaperms.ap.gov.in/TS_status/search.aspx

Let us all vote without fail!.

April 15, 2009 Posted by | National Politics | , , , | 118 Comments