Political News

Political and Technical weblog

Wanna know more about Indian Polls? Ask your queries here

who is going to win?

who is going to win?

The initial phase ended peacefully despite attacks from Maoist rebels that took a toll of 20 people. Deputy Election Commissioner Balakrishnan said, “Considering the complexities and difficulties, the polling was by and large peaceful in the country and the average turnout has come around 58% to 62%”. Polling in states like Maharashtra, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Kerala and Nagaland went off peacefully with no untoward incident, he added.

The Republic of India with its parliamentary democracy, depends solely on the voting system. The apt phrase “Unity in Diversity” projects the India’s different castes, languages and customs and that is the reason why it was considered by our founding fathers to have a Universal suffrage.

People in India exercise their franchise in both state level elections and seats for Parliament that consists of 543 seats.  The Indian Parliament consists of Rajya Sabha (also called upper house) and Lok Sabha, (also called lower house) that houses the representatives of the people. Even though President is the constitutional head, Prime Minister is the prime decision maker in the country with the help of his council of ministers.

Will they again come to power?

Will they again come to power?

The Lok Sabha elections of 2004 witnessed the formation of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the centre. Led by Indian National Congress, this single largest alliance got the support of leftist parties and others who did not favour BJP.

In this election, around 714 million voters elect their leaders to Lok Sabha from 828,804 polling centers on 23rd and 30th April, and on 7th and 13th of  May apart from the just now ended initial phase.

The following is the Election Schedule for Lok Sabha (2009)

Election Dates No. of Seats List of States
Apr 16 124 AP, Arunachal, Assam. Bihar, J&K, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, UP, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman, Lakshadweep
Apr 23 141 AP, Assam, Bihar, Goa, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand
Apr 30 107 Bihar, Gujarat, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim, UP, West Bengal, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu
May 07 85 Bihar, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi
May 13 86 Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry

The counting of votes will begin on 16th May 09 and the next Lok Sabha has to convene before 2nd June 09. Courtesy: http://www.indian-elections.com

Let us all vote without fail.


April 18, 2009 - Posted by | National Politics | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: