Political News

Political and Technical weblog

Wanna know more about Indian Polls? Ask your queries here

who is going to win?

who is going to win?

The initial phase ended peacefully despite attacks from Maoist rebels that took a toll of 20 people. Deputy Election Commissioner Balakrishnan said, “Considering the complexities and difficulties, the polling was by and large peaceful in the country and the average turnout has come around 58% to 62%”. Polling in states like Maharashtra, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Kerala and Nagaland went off peacefully with no untoward incident, he added.

The Republic of India with its parliamentary democracy, depends solely on the voting system. The apt phrase “Unity in Diversity” projects the India’s different castes, languages and customs and that is the reason why it was considered by our founding fathers to have a Universal suffrage.

People in India exercise their franchise in both state level elections and seats for Parliament that consists of 543 seats.  The Indian Parliament consists of Rajya Sabha (also called upper house) and Lok Sabha, (also called lower house) that houses the representatives of the people. Even though President is the constitutional head, Prime Minister is the prime decision maker in the country with the help of his council of ministers.

Will they again come to power?

Will they again come to power?

The Lok Sabha elections of 2004 witnessed the formation of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the centre. Led by Indian National Congress, this single largest alliance got the support of leftist parties and others who did not favour BJP.

In this election, around 714 million voters elect their leaders to Lok Sabha from 828,804 polling centers on 23rd and 30th April, and on 7th and 13th of  May apart from the just now ended initial phase.

The following is the Election Schedule for Lok Sabha (2009)

Election Dates No. of Seats List of States
Apr 16 124 AP, Arunachal, Assam. Bihar, J&K, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, UP, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman, Lakshadweep
Apr 23 141 AP, Assam, Bihar, Goa, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand
Apr 30 107 Bihar, Gujarat, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim, UP, West Bengal, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu
May 07 85 Bihar, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi
May 13 86 Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry

The counting of votes will begin on 16th May 09 and the next Lok Sabha has to convene before 2nd June 09. Courtesy: http://www.indian-elections.com

Let us all vote without fail.


April 18, 2009 Posted by | National Politics | , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Would u like playing online games? Check this league cricket

Great way to play online cricket

Great way to play online cricket

If you are bored by watching games in TV as passive audience, then Fantasy Sport is the thing for you. It vents your discontent – you can choose a specific team and line up for a particular match at this fantasy games website – http://www.indianfantasyleague.com and Voila! Watch your team score based on actual performance in real tournaments.

Get in touch with your pals and colleagues and compete in a fantasy squad. Also most fantasy leagues have a grand list of prizes to be given out at the end of each tournament.

The website has wide variety of games like Fantasy Football, Fantasy Tennis and Fantasy Golf apart from Fantasy Cricket. It gives the reason why devout sports lovers enjoy playing games at Fantasy league.

Indian Fantasy League is distributing prizes only within India at the moment. People looking for hard cash may feel let down as there are no monetary prizes in this game. The prizes given out are 25 dishtv connections, 10 Plasma TVs, 10 Laptops, 2 FZ-S, 100 Mobile Phones, 3 MPV cars and so on.

April 18, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , | 2 Comments